Steve On Comedy

Comedy is my favorite thing about life. My own comedy in particular. When I do something I think is funny and other people do not agree or do not laugh, a small voice in my head asks me why they are so wierd and I sort of feel sorry for them while I also hate them a little for not getting me (huge run on, sorry Mrs. D-10th grade english teacher).

For instance today I facilitated a meeting at work for two colleagues I hadn’t met previously and I had to prepare an agenda. As I finished typing my meeting agenda I realized I’d only filled a half of a page with text. I was worried they wouldn’t think I was green enough if I handed them a half-page agenda on a full page. I know there is a way to print two halves on one page but I gave up after two attempts. I consider myself a bit of an engineer so I quickly arrived at a solution, I brought my full-page agendas to the copy room and used the large paper-cutter from 1972 to make them green half-sized agendas. After discarding the unused portions of paper, I proceeded to the meeting.

With pride I handed them each a half-page agenda and I talked about how green I was. Appropriately, they each agreed  that I had made the environmentally correct decision. Instead of moving on, I explained what I had done thinking they would laugh, they did not. They looked at me as though I had just burned down a natural habitat somewhere with a cigarette butt. I felt shame then and told them I would be using the cut off pieces as scratch paper so I lied on top of it. It probably didn’t help that I had extra onions on my sandwich about an hour before and they room we used was small. I also explained this to them and they didn’t laugh but one of them gave me a stick of gum. Then I had to talk and chew gum for the rest of the meeting. I found it very difficult and I was nervous that I would spit on one them by accident…which I did…a couple of times.

Chalk up two more for the growing list of people who don’t understand my comedic genius.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

